Screenplay? Script writing? What is it that I wish to do here?

Posted: January 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

I spend a lot of time brainstorming while I write.  I’m usually doing it for the characters that I’m writing about, but yesterday for some strange reason I was completely sidetracked by an idea for a script.

While I would love to include the idea here, I don’t really want anyone to steal the idea from me, so I’m not going to post it.  I must just be happy with giving you THIS information:

It’s based on an old TV show and a feature film from the 40’s thru the early 70’s.

I would be bringing the story up to date…bringing the characters into the 21st century.

It has a paranormal theme, but for some reason has been overlooked in this last onslaught of paranormal based shows.

With that being said, I have a couple of questions for my very small audience here:

1.  This idea has already been a movie and a show once.  The show ran in the late sixties and early seventies.  Before I write this, are there any kinds of permissions that I need to get before I start writing it out?  Can I go ahead and write it and label it with the label “Fan Fiction?”

2.  Is the market too saturated with Paranormal based shows as it is?  Is there room for one more good show on this subject, even if it is rather soap opera-ish?

Please folks, your input is required here before I decide to move on.  Please leave comments!

Comments
  1. Christina says:

    I think you should write the script. I shouldn’t matter right now if there is too many Paranormal based shows right now. Just focus on writing it, and see how it goes. There are plently of books written based off of other stories. So I think it’s possible. I think you just have to let the audience know that it’s loosely based on something else. Or you could label it as “fanfiction.” I’m not a good expert on the subject, but I think you should try. I’ve written fanfiction before and really all you have to do is have an exclaimer that your script is based on something else but your plot is yours.

  2. blondmyk says:

    Thanks for your advice Christina. I think I’ll do that. Somewhere here I have a copy of the “Final draft” software, so I may just use that. I probably should check and see if my copy of Scrivener supports script work before I go to all the trouble of hunting that down. Hmmm… This could be really fun! I’ve only done one other script and it was made into film. I swore I’d never do it again because you can’t get the emotions, and even Supernatural events into them correctly unless you have some sort of a reasonable budget. I hope I can just sell this one.

Leave a Reply

